Overcoming shy programmer syndrome

I write a lot of programs, but I never publish them for others to use. Now with git and github, there aren’t any more real excuses.

Because I have been documenting like mad and cleaning up code, I am also taking the opportunity to push up working packages to github. So far I’ve pushed up two node.js utilities I am using. One is called makedir, and the other is called cas_validate

I previously wrote about an earlier version of makedir, but I am no longer using regular expressions, but rather am using the node path library.

I also previously wrote up that I forgot that I had written cas_validate.

I almost didn’t publish cas_validate because it doesn’t have any tests. But it works for me, so that is one sort of test. For makedir I just copied the test approach used by a number of other node.js authors whose packages I use a lot. But cas_validate requires a bit more effort, because it has to properly handle one-time keys and post messages and so on.

Still, I am tired of not pushing stuff out because they aren’t quite polished. The core algorithms are there, and sometimes pretty cool. And putting things out there will perhaps inspire me to do things like document and write tests more often.

Leave a Reply

