Diamond lace knitted in the round, part 2

Okay, this isn’t final or anything. Here is what I am knitting.

Cast on 96 stitches onto size 4 needles, using some thin yarn. I’m using really soft Rowan 50/50 wool cotton.

First knit the hem of the hat. I did k2 p2 for a buncha rows until it looked good for a baby. Unfortunately, the lace stitch has a bit more stretch than I anticipated, so this is probably a child’s hat. Anyway, I did 9 rows, and got a little under an inch.

Then knit up the pattern. You need to be careful to track groups of 6. I put in little bits of yarn every 12 stitches, and counted every 12, because it is just a pain to back up a lace stitch. In my own computer programmer’s variant on typical knitting notation, square brackets are the repeating section.

Round 1: [k4 yf sl1 k1 psso]

Round 2 and every other row, knit. This is the cool thing about knitting in the round. In the pattern book it says purl, but hah!

Round 3: sl1 [k k2tog yf k yf sl1 k psso]. The first slipped stitch is picked up at the end. And you have to do it because you need to psso that stitch. The whole point is to line up the yf holes on either side of the first row’s hole.

Round 4: Here’s where I need to go back and do it again to figure this out properly, but the first time through I did

Pass back one stitch you slipped on the previous round, so that your starting point is the same. Make a big ugly knit stitch there, and then knit.

I hate that round.

Round 5: [yf sl1 k2tog psso yf k3] Here the yf hole at the beginning is actually connected to the yf hole at the end by the k3. That is, if you look at the pattern, this is where the diamond formed by the yf holes is widest (separated by 3 stitches).

Round 7: [k3 yf sl1 k2tog psso yf] Here the two yf holes are connected by the jumble of sl1 k2tog psso, which serve to reduce the three stitches at the diamond’s widest point to a single stitch.

Round 9: repeat Round 1. You are just finishing off the diamond, putting the yf hole at the top of the diamond.

Round 10: knit.

Now you’ve got 10 rows of knitting done, and you should see 16 diamonds (6 into 96 is 16). The next 10 rows make another set of 16 diamonds offset 3 stitches from the first set. And here is where I totally screwed up translating the straight knitting pattern (6 + 3) onto 6 stitches in the round. Unfortunately, I didn’t really see the mistake until I was done with row 25 and looking back at row 17. There was no way I was going to undo that many rounds. Especially when I’ll probably just give this hat to Emma, and she will probably lose it at school. Again.

Anyway, here is what I’ve come up with as the correct set. I think.

Round 11: [k yf sl1 k psso k k k] Note that to better understand the 6 stitch pattern, I stopped writing k3, etc. Notice also that the yf is offset exactly in the pattern from Rows 1 and 9 (second in, rather than second to last).

Round 13: sl1 [yf k yf sl1 k psso k k2tog] As with row 3, you have to slip one stitch at the beginning of the row to keep the pattern oriented properly. If you don’t, then the k2tog at the end is all messed up. But unlike the first 10 stitches, I’ve figured out that you don’t have to put that stitch back. So as you do this round, make sure you shift all of your stitch markers along too, as you won’t be coming back.

Round 14: knit, and ignore the fact that you’ve rotated the row starting point one stitch over.

Round 15: [yf k k k yf sl1 k2tog psso] As before, this is the widest point of the diamond pattern, with the three knit stitches separating the two yf holes.

Round 17: [k yf sl1 k2tog psso yf k k] Closing up the diamond, with the k2tog and the psso making the three stitches into one stitch separating the two holes. Actually, my notation here on my notes is I T Y° T I I. In figuring this pattern out, I came up with the notation system that I is just a knit stitch carried along from the prior row, T is a new stitch, Y is knitting two stitches into one, and the ° (or zero, but degree is cooler) is short hand for slipping a stitch and passing it over. So K° is sl1 k psso, and Y° is sl1 k2tog psso. I like that method because when I am writing it down, the bottoms of all of the marks can be summed up to count the stitches. [ I T Y° T I I ] is clearly 6 stitches.

I haven’t actually done round 19 yet, but I will put in what my notes say and fix it if I am wrong.

Round 19 (Maybe): [k k yf sl1 k psso k k ] You should be repeating row 11, except you can’t because you’re shifted off by one. Except that this makes no sense to me right now, so maybe I have messed up this row.

So a fix to this post coming, and then the next challenge is how to reduce this gracefully.

Update:  I loaded up pics

Leave a Reply

