concrete 5 looks like a winner

I’ve been looking for something for Brooke to use for a while now to bang out websites. I tried rolling my own, tried a wiki, tried setting up a blog (not in that order) but nothing worked. Concrete5 looks like “the bomb” as my old friend Bob used to say.  I used their demo (until it reset) and it looked like it could do what I think Brooke wants to do with a site (format, arrange, write content, get automatic listings/directories, etc).  The FAQ says it has community tools too.  Finally, I did a control-u and saw jquery, etc etc, so I’m downloading it and going to fire it up.  I just emerged drupal yesterday, but I got all bogged down in plugins and add ons and so on. If I can’t set it up fast, it isn’t going to get done.

We’ll see how C5 works out.

Update:  C5 is indeed cool, but two problems.  First my upgrade from Firefox 2.0 to 3.0 was done poorly.  I didn’t do a clean restart.  So once I figured that out and got a new .mozilla/firefox directory, the flash bits started working for me.  But the second problem is that uploading files causes an immediate session fail.  I haven’t solved that yet.  Still, I see enough potential to keep plugging at it.

Update Update:  Turns out suhosin is the problem, or rather, it encrypts the session and flash then trips up on the encryption and the session is then invalidated.  I think.  Anyway, turning off encryption in suhosin config solved the problem, as I wrote here

Leave a Reply

