Cast on

Over the weekend I cast on for a cowl using some yarn my sister got me from Germany. Cast on 300 stitches on my new circular 4.5mm needles (also from my sister’s trip), joined in the round, and started knitting in a 1×1 rib. My sister liked a cowl that she saw in this shop, knit on the same needles and with the same yarn, but the instructions she got (jotted down in German) were to cast on 78 or so stitches and then knit up in garter stitch. The problem with that is then at the end I’d have to graft together the beginning and the end, and the fact that I hate back and forth knitting in garter stitch—too boring for words.

My goal is to do a round or two a day, so 300 to 600 stitches per day.

I’m surprised how weak my hands are. Pinkies and ring fingers on both hands are griping about being sore.

Leave a Reply

