Another note to my future self on DBIx::Class

I’ve been writing a lot of javascript, and I really like node.js. I like lots of languages, but I find that node.js tends to work how I expect.

That said, sometimes I need to use perl. Last week, after some searching and testing out libraries, I was generally dissatisfied with the node.js packages available for parsing spreadsheets. The node.js way is to be non-blocking and streaming, but I couldn’t find a package that handled old and new spreadsheets that was either non-blocking or streaming (or both). Faced with that, I’d much rather use the tried, true, and extremely well tested Spreadsheet::Read perl module. It is also blocking, but at least it is pretty much guaranteed to work.

So using perl to parse a spreadsheet means I also had to dust off my database code to put the parsed results into my database. Since my last round of perl programming, I’ve gotten much more diligent about testing things as I hack, and writing much smaller modules. So I’m writing a small module to save a list of data to the database. Pretty simple with DBIx::Class.

Creating a test database from Perl

One wrinkle came in testing my code. What I normally do in node.js (with mocha) is to write a little “before” script that creates a database, and then a little “after” script that tears it down. Then all the testing code can write and delete without worrying about bombing the production db, and without requiring me to manually create and delete databases.

The missing link for me (and the purpose of this blog post) was how to create a database and slot in tables from perl and DBIx::Class.

My final solution is a hack of sorts. Instead of being creative, I just dropped down to DBD::Pg and issued a “create database” command directly. My code looks like this:

# create a test database

use DBI;

my $host = $ENV{PGHOST} || '127.0.0.1';
my $port = $ENV{PGPORT} || 5432;
my $db = $ENV{PGTESTDATABASE} || 'test_db';
my $user = $ENV{PGTESTUSER} || $ENV{PGUSER} || 'postgres';
my $pass =  '';

my $admindb = $ENV{PGADMINDATABASE} || 'postgres';
my $adminuser = $ENV{PGADMINUSER} || 'postgres';


my $dbh;
eval{
    $dbh = DBI->connect("dbi:Pg:dbname=$admindb", $adminuser);
};
if($@) {
    croak $@;
}
my $create = "create database $db";
if($user ne $adminuser){
    $create .= " with owner $user";
}
eval {
        $dbh->do($create);
};

That works fine, and is mirrored at the end of the test with a similar $dbh->do("drop database $db"); statement. Sadly, I can’t remember how to do before and after type blocks in perl tests. I seem to remember doing them long ago, but the semantics escape me. Like the subjunctive tense in Italian.

Creating test tables using DBIx::Class

Now the next step that tripped me up was populating the few tables I need for the tests. I have a large crufty db, and lazily used an automated script to create my DBIx::Class schema from the existing PostgreSQL tables. But running $schema->deploy() didn’t work because I have views and so on that muck things up. I really only need two tables for my current spreadsheet data save tests, so I only wanted to deploy() those two tables.

The documentation says:

Additionally, the DBIx::Class parser accepts a sources parameter as a
hash ref or an array ref, containing a list of source to deploy. If
present, then only the sources listed will get deployed.

That’s great, but I couldn’t find any examples of exactly what that meant. So I tried a few things, and one thing worked, and so here I am writing a note to my future self (and anyone else who lands on this page).

My database has multiple postgresql schemas, and so my DBIx::Class schema generation script took that into account. That needs its own documentation, but essentially what I did was:

{"schema_class":"Testbed::Spatial::VDS::Schema",

 "connect_info":{
     "dsn":"dbi:Pg:dbname=spatialvds;host=localhost",
     "user":"myuser"
 },
 "loader_options":{
     "dump_directory": "./lib",
     "db_schema": ["public","hsis","wim","newctmlmap","tempseg"],
     "debug":false,
     "moniker_parts":  ["schema", "name"],
     "moniker_part_separator":  "::",
     "naming": {"ALL":"v8", "force_ascii" : true}
 }
}

The super long class name of Testbed::Spatial::VDS::Schema is cruft from the distant past, but not too difficult to work with. The upshot is that my schema definitions are buried in a directory structure rooted at ./lib/Testbed/Spatial/VDS/Schema/Result/[Public,Hsis,Wim,...]. The two packages that I want to deploy for my tests are called Testbed::Spatial::VDS::Schema::Result::Public::WimStatus and Testbed::Spatial::VDS::Schema::Result::Public::WimStatusCodes.

So.

To deploy just these two tables, I first wrote the fully qualified package names as the “sources” option. But that didn’t work. Then I remembered that when using DBIx::Class, usually you just refer to the different classes (representing tables) by everything after the top level package name. So in this case, I could drop the Testbed::Spatial::VDS::Schema part in both names. My final, working bit of code is:

## deploy via DBIx::Class

use Testbed::Spatial::VDS::Schema;

my $schema = Testbed::Spatial::VDS::Schema->connect(
    "dbi:Pg:dbname=$db;host=$host;port=$port",
    $user,
    );

## deploy just the tables I'm going to be accessing during testing

my $deploy_result;
eval{
    $deploy_result =  $schema->deploy(
        { 'sources'=>["Public::WimStatus",
                      "Public::WimStatusCode"]});
};
if($@) {
    carp 'test db deploy failed';
    croak $@;
}

One final note to my future self. I never like passing passwords around in my programs. What I’ve found is that PostgreSQL uses a .pgpass file, documented here. So as long as the username, host, and database name match one of the lines in that file, it will pull out the correct password. Because this file is chmod 0600, it is less likely to get accidentally read by someone else, and also it will never get slurped up into a git repository. Because perl uses the PostgreSQL C libraries, it automatically inherits this behavior. So with Postgres, you should never be putting passwords into command lines or environment variables or source code.

Leave a Reply

