Upgrade CouchDB to 2.0.0 preview/master branch

I was inspired today to try couchdb master, which is more or less the
2.0 preview. I ran into a minor problem that didn’t seem to be
documented anywhere.

I have a repo that I’ve been using to track the 1.6.x patches, and I
just pulled to that, checked out master, and tried to configure.

git pull
git checkout master
./configure

The configure process started to download a lot of stuff using git,
then crashed with a mysterious complaint about an app dir and an app
file missing.

Is it Erlang?

Since I’m on slackware, I tend to compile everything that isn’t
standard Slackware, and the standard SlackBuild for Erlang these days
is 17.4. I know I’ve had trouble with that in the past, so I took a
look at the INSTALL file and then the git logs and saw that the
maximum Erlang mentioned is 17.0. So I downloaded 17.0, compiled it,
and replaced 17.4 with 17.0.

Same problem. ./configure ran much faster, but failed with the same
error.

Is it just me?

I started to get discouraged, feeling like perhaps CouchDB wasn’t
going to let me relax any more. Because the error was in the sub
projects, I poked around the configure and Makefile files, and
didn’t see a way to force the clean checkout. So I just deleted the
problem directory (./src/couch_index) and ran configure again.
Again it crashed, but this time on a different file.

Because I trust git and because it isn’t my project, I just deleted
all of the directories under ./src/ and did a git status. Git
said that all was okay, so clearly none of the stuff under ./src was
under version control.

Rerunning ./configure this time checked out all of the projects, and
completed successfully.

Sadly, at the end of the configure step, I read the words:

Updating lager from {git,"https://git-wip-us.apache.org/repos/asf/couchdb-lager.git",
{branch,"master"}}
Updating bear from {git,"https://git-wip-us.apache.org/repos/asf/couchdb-bear.git",
{tag,"0.8.1"}}
james@kitty couchdb[master]$

Gone is the admonition

You have configured Apache CouchDB, time to relax.

Build

I went ahead and restored Erlang to 17.4, re-ran the configure step,
then ran make. Everything ran smoothly, aside from a minor hiccup
requiring me to run sudo pip install sphinx then make again.

Run

I didn’t want to install the new CouchDB, but rather just wanted to
play with it. Reading from https://couchdb.apache.org/developer-preview/2.0/,
I executed dev/run from the command line after the make completed
successfully. After it fired up the three nodes of the CouchDB 2.0
service (yay, 3 nodes out of the box!), I noted the root user and
password, and hopped over to my browser to http://127.0.0.1:15984/_utils.
The new Fauxton popped up, I logged in, with the root username and password,
and poked around the empty CouchDB.

Of course, not much there, but so it goes.

I haven’t had the guts to try cloning any of my old databases from
CouchDB 1.6.x (that’s for some other day). Instead I satisfied myself
with making a new, non-root user.

Unlike the old version of Futon, there isn’t an obvious place in
Fauxton to add a new user. I also found that the 2.0 docs aren’t
super complete, so I was curious if the old, curl-based method of
adding users (documented here) would work.

I ran the following command:

curl -X PUT http://localhost:15984/_users/org.couchdb.user:james \
-H "Accept: application/json" \
-H "Content-Type: application/json" \
-d '{"name": "james", "password": "pluot caramelized muffin breakfast", "roles": [], "type": "user"}'

Curl reported success, and I poked the _users database in fauxton
and saw my new user, with the password hashed properly, of course.  Now I can
log in as “james” rather than “root”.

So the upgrade to 2.0 developer preview is a success. Next I have to
actually test out all the new features.

Leave a Reply

